Hartlepool taxi driver and YouTube star in running to become MP

A Hartlepool  cabbie and charity stalwart who is standing for MP has had thousands of hits onstanding for MP he has created as part of his campaign.

Well-known Hartlepool taxi driver Stephen Picton, who has raised more than £50,000 for good causes, will challenge Labour’s Iain Wright as an independent candidate when the town goes to the polls in May.

 And the 43-year-old has set his campaign rolling with a number of videos – one of which has received 6,000 hits.

Back in March 2011, Stephen recorded his own version of Thom Pace’s hit Maybe, which is the theme tune from the Life and Times of Grizzly Adams, to raise awareness of bowel cancer.

It proved a huge success, racking up more than 9,000 YouTube views.

He tsaid:

“I’ve been doing videos on Facebook for a few years and I do a lot of charity work, that’s how people got to know me.

“I just turned it around and used it as a format to let people know how I was feeling while I’m running for MP.

“One of them has had 6,000 views.

“I’ve had no negative comments at all, people have actually been saying that they feel the same as me.”

The dad-of-four from the Oxford Road area of Hartlepool, said:

“I use videos and social media to help me along my way in the campaign.

“It’s a big part of everyday life now.”

He also raised £50,000 before his 40th birthday by organising dozens of quirky fundraisers.

Stephen, also known as Taffy the taxi driver, is campaigning on improving services for Hartlepool including the reinstatement of the town’s hospital.

Source – Hartlepool Mail,  13 Mar 2015

Leave a Reply

