The reality of zero hours contracts

The lovely wibbly wobbly old lady

Reposted from TUC website

#DecentJobsWeek: I love being a home care worker, but I hate the insecurity

17 Dec 2014, by Helen in Working Life

Decent Jobs WeekOh joy! Today I received a letter from HMRC stating I have been overpaid tax credits in relation to my childcare costs. I will have to pay back any money owed and may face a penalty for failure to inform them of a change in my circumstances. I would never knowingly claim money fraudulently, and I’m really not sure how I will ever pay back the money they are asking for.

This is the reality of zero-hours contracts.

I agreed a contract for childcare which included costs that were passed to HMRC tax credits department. But my hours changed, as they do every week. One week I may have 60 hours work and childcare may be near £300, others my hours may drop to 13, and…

View original post 583 more words

Leave a Reply

